Washington Sundar ruled out of West Indies T20I series with hamstring injure


Kuldeep Yadav has been named as his replacement

Story Image

Washington Sundar has been dogged by injure and sickness over the closing few months  BCCI

Washington Sundar has been ruled out of India’s three-match T20I series towards West Indies, which begins in Kolkata on Wednesday. Per a BCCI release, the hump-bowling allrounder suffered a hamstring strain while fielding sooner or later of the third ODI in Ahmedabad on Friday.

Left-arm wristspinner Kuldeep Yadav has been named as Washington’s replacement in India’s squad.

The hamstring strain is the most recent in a series of accidents and sicknesses which have hounded Washington over the closing few months. First, he became once forced to miss the 2nd half of IPL 2021 within the UAE after suffering a finger injure. He returned to domestic glide sooner or later of the 50-overs Vijay Hazare Trophy, serving to Tamil Nadu attain the closing, nevertheless a bout of Covid-19 saved him staring at for his global comeback, ruling him out of the ODI leg of India’s tour of South Africa in January this year.

Washington at closing returned to India colours sooner or later of the ODIs towards West Indies, playing all three games and showing promise with both ball and bat. He picked up four wickets at 18.75, while conceding lawful 4.16 runs per over, and he furthermore contributed ratings of 24 and 33 in his two outings with the bat.

Accurate when he perceived to be assist within the thick of things, nonetheless, injure has struck over once more.

As a specialist bowler, Kuldeep is never at all times a admire-for-admire replacement for Washington; the batting strategy of seamers Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar and Harshal Patel, nonetheless, have to nonetheless nonetheless allow India to settle an XI without compromising on their batting depth.

India squad for T20I series: Rohit Sharma (capt), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Deepak Hooda, Kuldeep Yadav.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button