Sri Lanka’s tour of India to beginning on February 24 with T20I sequence


Lucknow will host the first T20I now and Dharamsala the subsequent two. The two Tests will be played in Mohali and Bengaluru

Story Image

Sri Lanka will now play the T20I sequence sooner than the Tests  Sri Lanka Cricket

The BCCI has announced the revised dates and venues for Sri Lanka’s tour of India, that would furthermore comprise three T20Is and two Tests. The tour begins with the first T20I in Lucknow on February 24, with the different two being support-to-support fits in Dharamsala on February 26 and 27.

This would be followed by the first Test in Mohali from March 4, sooner than the tour concludes with a day-evening Test in Bengaluru beginning March 12. Both Tests will be a phase of the second cycle of the World Test Championship.

On the origin, the tour used to be scheduled to beginning with the T20I sequence followed by the Tests, however as reported by ESPNcricinfo earlier, the BCCI determined to commerce the sequence. This used to be achieved after SLC’s query to enable a smoother bubble-to-bubble switch of their T20I squad, that would furthermore hang concluded a sequence in Australia appropriate four days sooner than the first T20I in opposition to India.

One other commerce used to be within the venues. Within the beginning, the first Test used to be to be played in Bengaluru and the second in Mohali, whereas the T20Is had been to be held in Mohali, Dharamsala and Lucknow. Now ending the tour in Bengaluru facilitates the visiting Sri Lanka side with an instantaneous flight to Colombo.

This can completely be India’s third day-evening Test at home – they hosted Bangladesh in 2019 and England in 2021 – and their fourth total, the identical quantity as Sri Lanka. Both groups hang won two and misplaced one in every of their three day-evening Tests up to now.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button